Thursday, June 17, 2010

New Crew Members Prepare for Docking

Three new Expedition 24 crew members continued their voyage aboard the Soyuz TMA-19 spacecraft to the International Space Station after launching from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan at 5:35 p.m. EDT Tuesday.

Flight Engineers Doug Wheelock, Shannon Walker and Fyodor Yurchikhin executed another rendezvous burn and tested the docking systems of the Soyuz TMA-19 Wednesday to prepare for docking to the aft port of the station’s Zvezda service module at 6:25 p.m. Thursday.

Fellow Expedition 24 crewmates, Commander Alexander Skvortsov and Flight Engineers Mikhail Kornienko and Tracy Caldwell Dyson, will welcome them aboard the orbiting complex when the hatches open around 9:25 p.m.

1 comment:

  1. I am continually impressed with what we are able to do with technology these days.